Home
About Ellen
Books
Events
Classes
Book Clubs
Media
Blog
Contact
 

Latest News

Ellen's new novel, French Lessons, will be published by Ballantine in 2011!

 

Books

On a Night Like This
Coming in June 2008 from Bloomsbury

Dirty Words:
A Literary Encyclopedia of Sex

Featured in Elle, Nylon, Playboy, Self!
Check the June issue of Penthouse for an interview with Ellen!

A playful take on bedroom talk—a smart, funny encyclopedia with entries written by notable contemporary writers. This witty reference steps in where time-honored discussions of the birds-and-the-bees typically fall short.

Love the Dirty Words book cover?
So does Ellen. Read her essay.

Read more about Dirty Words.
Read the reviews.

Order from Amazon
Order from Barnes & Noble
Order from Powell's


Bad Girls
Now in paperback
from W.W. Norton

Bad Girls: 25 Writers Misbehave

New York Times Editor's Choice!
San Francisco Chronicle Bestseller

I behave badly to set myself apart. To test myself. To push myself. To prove something. To shock someone. ... I behave badly because I can." That's how Ellen Sussman describes her deviant endeavours. To better understand them, she's invited 25 other bad girls together to share their stories.  

Check out the Bad Girls website!
Read Susan Straight's Bad Girls essay on Salon.com.
Read more about Bad Girls.

Order from Amazon
Order from Barnes & Noble
Order from Powells


On a Night Like This
Now in paperback
from Warner Books

On a Night Like This

San Francisco Chronicle Best Seller List
January Magazine's Best Fiction List of 2004
Soon to be a Lifetime movie!

In the tradition of Anita Shreve and Sue Miller, Ellen Sussman offers a rich, powerful story of a fiercely independent single mother who must learn to confront loss to find love.

Read more about On a Night Like This.

Order from Amazon
Order from Barnes & Noble
Order from Powells

Other Works by Ellen

The Thong Also Rises

Because I Love Her

Ellen has an essay in the upcoming anthology Because I Love Her, edited by Nicki Richesin.

Order from Amazon


The Other Woman
Available now
from Warner Books

The Other Woman

She's been called the harpy, the Jezebel, the Lorelei, the bitch...and other choice names. In truth, she is someone's daughter, mother, friend, confidante. She seduces husbands, breaks up marriages, and occasionally becomes a
stepmother. She is the Other Woman--but she's only half the story.

You can read Elllen's essay "Invite the Bitch to Dinner" in The Other Woman.

Order from Amazon
Order from Barnes & Noble
Order from Powells


The Other Woman
Available now
from Seal Press

For Keeps: Women Tell the Truth About Their Bodies, Growing Older, and Acceptance

In For Keeps: Women Tell the Truth About Their Bodies, Growing Older, and Acceptance twenty-seven gifted authors write personal essays about how body image has colored, changed or enriched their lives...or how life’s events have changed their body image.

You can read Ellen's essay "What I Gave Up " in For Keeps.

Order from Amazon
Order from Barnes & Noble
Order from Powells


The Other WomanAvailable now
from Doubleday

Kiss Tomorrow Hello: Notes from Midlife Underground by 25 Women Over Forty

For baby-boomer women, "aging" is the ultimate hot-button word. Kiss Tomorrow Hello consists of spunky, poignant, and sometimes slapstick responses to midlife crises by women over 40.

You can read Ellen's essay "Tearing up the Sheets: A Meditation on Middle-Aged Sex" in Kiss Tomorrow Hello.

Order from Amazon
Order from Barnes & Noble
Order from Powells


The Thong Also Rises
Available now
from Travelers Tales

The Thong Also Rises

Too many travel guides are dry lists of attractions or portentous histories of a place. This isn't the case with The Thong Also Rises. These Ms-adventures take readers around the world and back again — and they’ll be happy to be reading rather than experiencing some of these adventures.

You can read Ellen's essay, "Naked Nightmare" in The Thong Also Rises.

Order from Amazon
Order from Barnes & Noble
Order from Powells


Real Wife Stories: Febuary, 2009

We share our lives. But the kitchen – well, that's another story.

 


My Turn: December 8, 2003

How Would My Rape Shape My Kids’ Lives? I’d always taught my daughters to be fearless. Now I had to tell them how treacherous the world can be.

 

© Ellen Sussman, 2008. All rights reserved. Site by Shelly King.